Skip to content

Pierre at Red.

December 11, 2012

Tis the season, the cafe is always slow as the world speeds toward red and green.

Crickets! During Shopping Season

We await Christmas week when families meet halfway to exchange packages and words of love while merrily eating Betsy’s hot meals.

New Betsy Shirts. Hopefully ready for Christmas Visitors.

New Betsy Shirts. Hopefully ready for Christmas Visitors.

I was able to work on a project for the coffee drinkers for Christmas.

Christmas for the Early Morning Guys of the Rock Cafe.

Christmas for the Early Morning Guys of the Rock Cafe.

I was also able to enjoy the season’s decorations and activities in Bricktown/Downtown Oklahoma City. I am full of admiration for the planning and execution of not only Oklahoma City but Tulsa and the entire State and enjoy soaking up the vibe.

OKC Skyline

OKC Skyline

The Myriad Gardens have lots of activities this time of year. Including Pop Up Shops.

The Myriad Gardens have lots of activities this time of year. Including Pop Up Shops.

I posed for some pictures where the Jolly Green Giant was obviously erecting his Christmas tree here in the next few days.

This must be the spot for his tree. Because he stacked his ornaments close by.

This must be the spot for his tree. Because he stacked his ornaments close by.

OOPS 2 more landed close by. Obviously, he slides them down the vine late at night. ;)

OOPS 2 more landed close by. Obviously, he slides them down the vine late at night. 😉

A bet was made based on my ice skating skills. A sweet man staying at the Colcord who was here for some work and a chance to begin a great new romance helped me.

socks

He went up to his room and retrieved me a pair of his socks to wear.

Devon Ice rink is very slippery. I have very good balancing skills

Devon Ice rink is very slippery. I have very good balancing skills

A view of the ice rink from the new Devon rooftop restaurant, Vast.

A view of the ice rink from the new Devon rooftop restaurant, Vast.

Not only the sites but watching other people enjoy their experience. There is always magic in this and from time to time a connection is made that will stain me for life.

I was also able to enjoy a drink at Red after enjoying the season’s decorations in Bricktown/Downtown Oklahoma City.Feeling merry and bright from my walk-about, I enter a fully packed Red and find one open seat at the bar. The bartender was busy spinning finely crafted libations and it was easy to see many were in for business parties.

Red Bar has awesome vibe and festive atmosphere.

Red Bar has awesome vibe and festive atmosphere.

I was immediately intrigued with the person to my left, a handsome older man well dressed but casual and certainly not meant to hunt. He was alone and quiet. I heard only a few words as he answered the busy bartenders. I knew they respected him and made sure he was well taken care of in the midst of an obviously busy bar. Who was he? Sounded like an accent but not quite. I find an intro and take it. It doesn’t take long to find out he is working for A Good Egg Dining Group and helping to develop a kick ass new team of pastry chef’s for Kitchen No. 324, a new restaurant concept.

http://www.kitchen324.com/Open December 21, coincidence its on the last day of Earth. ;) I don't think so.

http://www.kitchen324.com/
Open December 21, coincidence its on the last day of Earth. 😉 I don’t think so.

He showed me that days samples and they looked just like this.

He showed me that days samples and they looked just like this.

Very Excited as he is part of my world. Turns out Pierre originally from France transported to Seattle possibly by marriage from the romantic stories of his wife where he owned a pastry business up until recently when he sold it to retire. WOW.

Here is a rundown of our conversation:

We both had the luck to build a business we had passion for.

We both decided to retire and take the jump toward something new without a complete idea of what it may be.

We both love the idea of  helping American children learn more about food choices and health.

We both love to travel, meet people, and exchange ideas and cultures.

We both wanted to retire with our families in the most wonderful climate within America.

We both wanted to find new work within retirement.

At the end, we realize all the similarities of our unique lives and where we are today. We are sitting quiet while this really sinks in and he asks the simple but hard question: Are you scared?

I found that extremely profound. My base idea for Zero to 40 was to fight the fear of the unknown future and share that experience for others in my demographic. In 2010, when faced with an eminent divorce, I knew life was going to change dramatically. I spent most of 2010 conquering the emotions and feelings of such a powerful life shift and came to some decisions about how I wanted to spend this phase of life. I spent 2011 laying the groundwork for the future of my family and myself.

These kids are all very excited about their dreams and each have a general direction for the effort of making them come true.

These kids are all very excited about their dreams and each have a general direction for the effort of making them come true.

Trying to keep the base line of what would make each of us the most satisfied and complete and moving toward our individual dreams. I spent the beginning of 2012 shedding fears …..

So my answer was easy. I am not scared. I am looking forward to the future and the unknown portions of it. It is time to let the dreams fly and see where they land. I was very proud of my simple answer for Pierre. No. I am not.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Alexis permalink

    Dawhh 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Kitchen No. 324

Leave a Reply

